Notch apps for Windows 11 and 10, compared

October 2026. Checked on 4 October 2026. Written by the maker of NotchPixel, so read the last section with that in mind.

A notch app puts a small pill at the top centre of your screen. It shows what is playing and other live status, and opens into a card when you point at it. Below are the 25 other apps I found and checked for Windows, free ones first, and mine last.

The idea comes from the iPhone, where Apple calls it the Dynamic Island. On a PC there is no camera cut-out to wrap around, so these apps draw their own. Prices below are US prices in the Microsoft Store, on Steam or on the maker's site, as they were on 4 October 2026; one maker gives its price only in pounds, and I say so where it applies. I have not measured any other app's memory or CPU, so this page gives no performance figures for them.

If you came from a Mac, this page covers the Mac notch apps and what works on Windows instead.

The short answer

All of them at a glance

US prices and requirements as listed on the date in the last column. "Not stated" means the app's own page gives no minimum Windows version. Store versions are Windows 10 version numbers; 1809 is build 17763 and 2004 is build 19041.
AppPrice (US)Windows 10Installs fromLast checked
Free
Island mod for WindhawkFreeNot statedWindhawk4 Oct 2026
DynamicWinFreeNot statedGitHub releases4 Oct 2026
Dynamic EdgeFree; Plus add-on $4.991809 and laterMicrosoft Store4 Oct 2026
Smart NotchFree1809 and laterMicrosoft Store4 Oct 2026
Halo DynamicWinFree2004 and laterMicrosoft Store4 Oct 2026
WinIslandFree1809 and laterMicrosoft Store4 Oct 2026
Notch XFree1809 and laterMicrosoft Store4 Oct 2026
DlivesFree1809 and laterMicrosoft Store or GitHub4 Oct 2026
PillyFree; paid plans in the appBuild 14316 and laterMicrosoft Store4 Oct 2026
AWNAFree tabs; £8 unlocks the restYesIts own site4 Oct 2026
V-NotchFree2004 and later, 64-bitGitHub releases4 Oct 2026
WNotchFreeNot statedGitHub releases4 Oct 2026
qnotchFree2004 and later, x64GitHub releases4 Oct 2026
Quick PillFreeYes, 64-bitIts own site or GitHub4 Oct 2026
PILLARFreeYes, 64-bitGitHub releases4 Oct 2026
Paid
Nactro's notch app$0.991809 and laterMicrosoft Store4 Oct 2026
BEEBHNY's notch app$1.491809 and laterMicrosoft Store4 Oct 2026
Notchify$1.991809 and laterMicrosoft Store4 Oct 2026
Up A Notch$1.991809 and laterMicrosoft Store4 Oct 2026
BuildNotch$3 for the first 50 buyers, then $4.992004 and laterIts own site4 Oct 2026
DockBar$4.99Yes, 64-bitSteam4 Oct 2026
Notchio$5 for the first 50 licences, then $15Not stated; its site says Windows 11Microsoft Store, key from its site4 Oct 2026
Ghostly$9.991809 and laterMicrosoft Store4 Oct 2026
PulseNotch$9.99Build 14316 and laterMicrosoft Store4 Oct 2026
ZenithBar$12Yes, 64-bitIts own site4 Oct 2026
NotchPixel$9.992004 and laterMicrosoft Store4 Oct 2026

Free options

Start here. Every one of these costs nothing to start with, and for many people one of them is enough.

The island mod for Windhawk

By Himanshu. Version 1.3.1, updated 26 September 2026. MIT licence.

Price
Free.
Windows 10
Its readme sets no minimum version. Its blur setting is described as needing Windows 10 version 1803 or newer.
Installs from
Windhawk, a free, open-source tool for installing small mods to Windows. Install Windhawk, then search its catalog for "island" and pick the mod by Himanshu.
Good at
Covering a lot for nothing: now playing with a waveform, calendar, weather, a hardware monitor, a game overlay with FPS, a file tray, what you last copied, Windows notifications, and dots when the microphone or camera is in use. It hides in fullscreen apps by default and has 12 languages. In the Windhawk catalog it has 28,295 users and a 9 out of 10 rating from 1,033 people.
Keep in mind
It runs inside Windhawk, so you keep Windhawk installed. Lasting settings live in Windhawk's Mod Settings tab; choices made from the island's right-click menu reset when the mod restarts.

If you only want media controls in the Windows 11 taskbar rather than a notch, Island Media Controls, also on Windhawk, does just that (8,823 users).

DynamicWin

By Florian Butz. Version 2.0.3, released 22 October 2025.

Price
Free.
Windows 10
Not stated.
Installs from
GitHub releases, as an installer or a portable zip. The repository now hosts releases only, not source code.
Good at
A media controller with favourites, a calendar that can connect to Google Calendar, a file tray whose files you can open or share through the Windows share dialog, and Bluetooth device battery. It updates itself.
Keep in mind
There has been no release since 22 October 2025, and the author's notes for the first version 2 release called it still unstable.

Dynamic Edge

By Eyuel Engida. In the Store since 20 August 2026, updated 4 October 2026.

Price
Free. An optional Dynamic Edge Plus add-on is $4.99 once.
Windows 10
Version 1809 (build 17763) or later, x64.
Installs from
The Microsoft Store.
Good at
Media: a seek bar, a switcher between players, and a volume flyout you can scroll. It can sit at the top or as a blade on the left or right edge, hides in fullscreen games, and has a clipboard shelf you can drop files on and three quick-launch slots. Five languages.
Keep in mind
Some customisation and power-user tools are in the paid Plus add-on.

Smart Notch

By Dev_avinash. In the Store since 12 May 2026, updated 30 September 2026.

Price
Free.
Windows 10
Version 1809 (build 17763) or later, x64.
Installs from
The Microsoft Store.
Good at
Now playing with synced lyrics, volume and brightness pop-ups, Bluetooth battery, a focus timer with tasks, camera and microphone indicators, and weather. It can be a notch or a full bar, at the top or along a side. In the US Microsoft Store it has 4.3 stars from 7 ratings; Up A Notch is the only other Store app here with US ratings.
Keep in mind
The listing is in English only.

Halo DynamicWin

By Boy Labs. In the Store since 10 August 2026, updated 21 August 2026. MIT licence, source on GitHub.

Price
Free.
Windows 10
Version 2004 (build 19041) or later. x64 and ARM64.
Installs from
The Microsoft Store.
Good at
Media, mirrored notifications, a file tray, download progress, Bluetooth battery, and panels for Claude Code and Codex sessions. Eight languages, with right-to-left layout for Arabic and Persian. It is the only Store app in this guide with an ARM64 build.
Keep in mind
It is new and small: no Store update since 21 August 2026, and a source repository that few people follow yet.

WinIsland

By Deep Skylabs. In the Store since 3 August 2026, updated 10 August 2026.

Price
Free.
Windows 10
Version 1809 (build 17763) or later, x64.
Installs from
The Microsoft Store.
Good at
Now playing, a dock of quick actions (Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, volume, Do Not Disturb, Snipping Tool and more) that you can reorder, your own shortcuts dropped onto the dock, the last 20 things you copied kept on the PC, battery status, and an animated panda that reacts to your typing.
Keep in mind
Its listing says it sends anonymised analytics. English only.

Notch X

By rahoz osman. In the Store since 9 September 2026, updated 10 September 2026.

Price
Free.
Windows 10
Version 1809 (build 17763) or later, x64.
Installs from
The Microsoft Store.
Good at
A glass-style notch for notifications, media, system controls and quick actions.
Keep in mind
The listing is short and has no release notes, so there is little to go on before you install it.

Dlives

By suhas hoskere. In the Store since 7 September 2026, updated 16 September 2026. MIT licence, source on GitHub.

Price
Free.
Windows 10
Version 1809 (build 17763) or later, x64.
Installs from
The Microsoft Store, or an installer from its site.
Good at
Media with click-to-seek, notes saved as Markdown files on your PC, alarms, a calendar, tasks, a file shelf and system stats. F10 opens it.
Keep in mind
It is about a month old, with one GitHub release so far.

Pilly

By Nirav Gill. In the Store since 23 March 2026, updated 8 May 2026.

Price
Free, with paid plans sold inside the app. The listing does not give their price.
Windows 10
Build 14316 or later, x64.
Installs from
The Microsoft Store.
Good at
It is an AI assistant first: chat, and answers about what is on your screen, next to widgets for media, system stats, stock prices, news and a calculator. The free tier has 10 AI requests a day and five widget slots.
Keep in mind
Its listing says the screen analysis runs on outside AI models (NVIDIA and DeepSeek), and most extras, including multi-monitor placement, are in the paid plans.

AWNA

Version 1.3.0 (its changelog gives no dates). Code-signed since version 0.3.0.

Price
The Today, Tasks, Music and Shelf tabs are free. £8 once unlocks everything else; its site gives the price in pounds only.
Windows 10
Windows 10 and 11, per its site. No admin rights needed.
Installs from
Its own site.
Good at
Ten tabs of everyday tools: calendar and tasks, notes, timers and alarms, music, system controls and stats, an app launcher, a file shelf, clipboard history with search, and screen capture including scrolling screenshots and text from the screen. It also does dictation with Ctrl+Win. No account.
Keep in mind
Six of the ten tabs need the paid key.

Open source on GitHub. These five are free, and you can read their code. None of their installers is from the Microsoft Store, and the qnotch, WNotch and PILLAR readmes say their installers are not code-signed, so Windows SmartScreen may ask you to confirm the first run.

V-Notch

By rainaku. Version 1.9.3, released 24 September 2026. Apache 2.0 licence.

Price
Free. The author takes donations.
Windows 10
64-bit Windows 10 build 19041 or later, or Windows 11.
Installs from
GitHub releases. The smaller installer needs the .NET 8 or .NET 10 Desktop Runtime; the self-contained one does not.
Good at
Media controls with synced lyrics, system stats, privacy indicators, and a search launcher. It can stay a small pill or open into a larger floating panel.
Keep in mind
Some media extras rely on unofficial Spotify endpoints, which its readme says Spotify may restrict.

WNotch

By Brick-Bread. The app itself is called Notch. Version 0.12.1, released 3 October 2026. MIT licence.

Price
Free.
Windows 10
Not stated for the installer. Its readme calls it a notch for Windows 11.
Installs from
GitHub releases. It installs for your user only, without admin rights.
Good at
It leaves fullscreen games completely. Media with artwork, volume and brightness pop-ups, a file shelf, clipboard history, timers, calendar feeds, plugins, and a terminal inside the notch for Claude Code, Codex and opencode.
Keep in mind
It is moving fast: two releases on 3 October alone.

qnotch

By Somafet. Version 0.3.0, released 3 October 2026. MIT licence.

Price
Free.
Windows 10
Version 2004 or newer, x64.
Installs from
GitHub releases, as a single exe or a self-contained zip.
Good at
System stats, now playing, clipboard history with pins, microphone and camera indicators, notifications any script can post, search, and panels for Claude Code sessions. In games it shrinks to a one-line status bar. Features you switch off are not loaded.
Keep in mind
It is very new, at version 0.3.

Quick Pill

By Abrar Nabil (NeoSparkX). Version 5.3.0, released 2 October 2026. MIT licence.

Price
Free.
Windows 10
Windows 10 or 11, 64-bit, per its download page.
Installs from
Its own site or GitHub releases.
Good at
Media controls, a notifications hub, tasks, Pomodoro timers, clipboard history and hardware stats.
Keep in mind
It is built on Electron, a web-based app framework.

PILLAR

By warpirate. Version 0.1.4, released 24 August 2026. MIT licence.

Price
Free.
Windows 10
Windows 10 or 11, 64-bit.
Installs from
GitHub releases, as an installer or an MSI.
Good at
Media controls, focus timers, notifications, system stats, a per-app volume mixer and an AI assistant.
Keep in mind
No release since 24 August 2026.

Each of these is a one-time price, not a subscription. Cheapest first.

Nactro's notch app

By Nactro; its Store title uses Apple's trademark, so this guide names it by its maker and Store ID 9PGR4ZG2SXW0. In the Store since 8 December 2025, updated 27 July 2026.

Price
$0.99.
Windows 10
Version 1809 (build 17763) or later, x64 or x86.
Installs from
The Microsoft Store.
Good at
Music controls, weather, CPU, RAM, GPU and network use, app shortcuts, clipboard history, and meeting controls with a camera preview and microphone switch.
Keep in mind
It also includes a "RAM booster" and temp-file cleaner, which go beyond what a notch usually does. English only.

BEEBHNY's notch app

By BEEBHNY; its Store title uses Apple's trademark, so this guide names it by its maker and Store ID 9P3N4V31JHDZ. Listed on 10 July 2026, with no update since.

Price
$1.49.
Windows 10
Version 1809 (build 17763) or later. The package is x86, which runs on 64-bit Windows too.
Installs from
The Microsoft Store.
Good at
A bar that stays on top, with music controls, live info, shortcuts and a charging animation.
Keep in mind
The listing is two sentences long, with no release notes.

Notchify

By Kingpindev. In the Store since 17 April 2026, updated 3 October 2026.

Price
$1.99.
Windows 10
Version 1809 (build 17763) or later, x64.
Installs from
The Microsoft Store.
Good at
Breadth for the price: media with synced lyrics and a lyrics widget, a notifications panel, clipboard history with pins, a file tray, Bluetooth battery, and widgets for weather, calendar, timers, Pomodoro, notes and to-dos. It has 14 themes, a theme editor, and an option to follow your cursor across monitors. The description says 10 languages.
Keep in mind
Its listing does not describe a game overlay or a way to send files to a phone, so look elsewhere if you need either.

Up A Notch

By Hereafter2. In the Store since 1 December 2021, updated 9 June 2026.

Price
$1.99.
Windows 10
Version 1809 (build 17763) or later.
Installs from
The Microsoft Store.
Good at
Just the shape: a black notch on your main monitor, above every window and even the lock screen, with hotkeys to hide it and clicks that pass through it. It has been in the Store since 2021 and has 3.3 stars from 9 US ratings.
Keep in mind
It shows no music or status. The listing says gadgets will come later.

BuildNotch

By Tudor. Built on .NET and WinUI.

Price
$3 for its first 50 buyers, $4.99 after that, per its site on 4 October 2026.
Windows 10
Version 2004 or newer, x64.
Installs from
Its own site. After you buy, the installer comes from the seller's customer portal.
Good at
It is made for developers: project shortcuts, a launcher for AI apps on your PC, GitHub contribution activity, a code scratchpad, focus timers, tasks and notes, and music controls.
Keep in mind
Its site says the installer is not code-signed, so Windows may show an unrecognised-app warning the first time you run it.

DockBar

By Wapkain. Released 18 March 2026.

Price
$4.99.
Windows 10
Windows 10 or 11, 64-bit.
Installs from
Steam.
Good at
A bar across the top with music, system info, timers, notes, a to-do list and a quick launcher, plus a glass theme and textures. Nine languages.
Keep in mind
It is sold through Steam, so you need the Steam app and a Steam account.

Notchio

By Yash Yadav. Version 0.1.0; its Store listing was updated 30 September 2026.

Price
$5 for the first 50 lifetime licences, then $15, per its site. The Store download is free, and a licence key unlocks it on one PC.
Windows 10
Not stated in the Store. Its site says it is for Windows 11.
Installs from
The Microsoft Store; the key comes from its site.
Good at
A short pill that shows one thing at a time, and a big set of tools when open: media with synced lyrics, a calendar with Join buttons for Teams, Meet and Zoom, weather, clipboard history, a file tray that converts images and removes backgrounds, notes, system stats and notifications. When you maximise a window, it can move into a free gap on the taskbar. No account.
Keep in mind
It is at version 0.1, and the price triples after the first 50 licences.

Ghostly

By Holy Panda. In the Store since 14 April 2025, updated 13 May 2026.

Price
$9.99.
Windows 10
Version 1809 (build 17763) or later, x64.
Installs from
The Microsoft Store.
Good at
A media widget that expands, with track info, a thumbnail and playback buttons. It can open music services inside it, stay expanded and stay on top.
Keep in mind
It is mainly a media player widget, at the same price as NotchPixel.

PulseNotch

By novatsingh. In the Store since 11 May 2026, updated 13 September 2026.

Price
$9.99.
Windows 10
The Store lists build 14316 or later, x64. Its site says it is made for Windows 11.
Installs from
The Microsoft Store.
Good at
Music controls with visualisers, quick-launch apps and websites, up to 50 clipboard items with search and pins, tasks, notes, reminders, a focus timer, and Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, battery, volume and brightness controls. Themes and gradients.
Keep in mind
Its listing does not describe a game overlay or a way to send files to a phone.

ZenithBar

By Henry Cauan. Version 0.2.10, released 11 September 2026.

Price
$12 once, after a 7-day free trial. Its site gives $19 as the regular price.
Windows 10
Windows 10 or 11, 64-bit.
Installs from
Its own site, which links to an installer on GitHub.
Good at
Work tools: a visual clipboard history, a file shelf, Google Calendar events, media controls, notification previews, and pinned apps and sites. Clipboard history stays on the device, and its site says the core features need no account; the Google connection is optional.
Keep in mind
It is the most expensive app in this guide.

Not listed: one more Store app (Store ID 9P3XF1343S0X) still shows up in searches, but its Store page returned "product not found" on 4 October 2026.

How to get a notch on Windows 11 or 10, step by step

There are three free routes and one paid one. Each takes a few minutes.

With Windhawk (free)

  1. Download Windhawk from its own site and install it.
  2. Search its mod catalog for "island".
  3. Pick the mod by Himanshu and install it.
  4. Change its options in Windhawk's Mod Settings tab, so they last after a restart.

From the Microsoft Store (free)

  1. Open the Microsoft Store app and search for the app's name, for example Dynamic Edge or Smart Notch.
  2. Select Get or Install. The Store installs it and keeps it updated.
  3. Open the app from Start. Use its own settings to choose where the pill sits and what it shows.

From GitHub (free, open source)

  1. Open the project's Releases page, for example V-Notch or qnotch, and download the installer for the latest release.
  2. Run it. Several of these installers are not code-signed, so if Windows SmartScreen asks, choose More info, then Run anyway, only if you trust the project.
  3. Check the project's readme for anything else it needs, such as a .NET runtime.

With NotchPixel ($9.99 once)

  1. Open NotchPixel in the Microsoft Store and buy it there. The Store installs it and keeps it updated.
  2. Open it from Start. The notch sits at the top centre; rest the pointer on it to open it.

Is there a Dynamic Island for Windows?

Not from Apple. Dynamic Island is Apple's name for a feature of the iPhone, and Apple does not make it for Windows. What Windows has are notch apps from independent developers, such as the ones in this guide. None of them is made by Apple or Microsoft, even when an app's own name uses Apple's term.

Older how-tos from 2022 use XWidget, a free widget engine, with a downloadable skin. XWidget's own site lists its Windows version as dated 10 October 2022. The apps above are newer and do not need it.

NotchPixel

This one is mine, so it comes last. The same five questions, answered the same way.

NotchPixel

Published by KORE INDUSTRIES. In the Store since 29 September 2026, updated 3 October 2026. Version 0.5.64.

Price
$9.99 once in the US, after a 7-day free trial; other countries see their own local price. No subscription, no account.
Windows 10
Version 2004 (build 19041) or later, and Windows 11. x64 only.
Installs from
The Microsoft Store, which installs and updates it. Microsoft signs the package.
Good at
Doing jobs, not only showing status. In fullscreen games it hides, or shows a slim FPS, CPU, GPU and RAM strip, and reminders still show over the game. Ctrl+Alt+M mutes the microphone in every app, with a call timer. Its file shelf sends files to your phone and back on the same Wi-Fi with a QR code, with no app or account on the phone. Streamers get a Twitch or YouTube chat drawer and an OBS REC pill. It also has now playing, clipboard history with pins, mirrored notifications, volume and brightness pop-ups, screenshots and screen recording, and 21 languages. At idle it uses about 13 MB in Task Manager and 0% CPU (version 0.5.64, 3 Oct 2026; how it was measured).
Keep in mind
It costs more than most apps here, it is x64 only, and it is new: no ratings in the Store yet.

Which one should you pick

If you only want the look, use a free one. Paying for a pill that shows the song title makes little sense when several do that for nothing.

NotchPixel is for you if you want the notch to take over a few specific jobs:

Get NotchPixel

$9.99 once, after a 7-day free trial. No subscription, no account.

US price; the Store shows the price for your country. The Microsoft Store installs and updates it.

Get NotchPixel from the Microsoft Store

Questions

Is there a free notch app for Windows 11?

Yes. The island mod for Windhawk, DynamicWin, Dynamic Edge, Smart Notch, Halo DynamicWin, WinIsland, Notch X and Dlives are free, and so are the open-source V-Notch, WNotch, qnotch, Quick Pill and PILLAR on GitHub. Dynamic Edge sells an optional Plus add-on for $4.99, Pilly is free with paid plans in the app, and AWNA keeps four tabs free and charges £8 to unlock the rest. Checked on 4 October 2026.

Which notch apps work on Windows 10?

Most of them. Dynamic Edge, Smart Notch, WinIsland, Notch X, Dlives, the Nactro app, the BEEBHNY app, Notchify, Up A Notch and Ghostly list Windows 10 version 1809 (build 17763) or later in the Microsoft Store, and Pilly and PulseNotch list build 14316 or later. Halo DynamicWin, BuildNotch, V-Notch, qnotch and NotchPixel need Windows 10 version 2004 (build 19041) or later. DockBar, ZenithBar, AWNA, Quick Pill and PILLAR say Windows 10 or 11. The Windhawk mod, DynamicWin and WNotch do not state a minimum version. Notchio's site says Windows 11, and PulseNotch's site says it is made for Windows 11.

Do these apps work on a laptop?

Yes. Windows laptops have no camera cut-out at the top of the screen, and these apps do not need one: each draws its own pill at the top of the display, on a laptop screen or a desktop monitor alike.

Which ones are on GitHub?

V-Notch (Apache 2.0), WNotch, qnotch, Quick Pill, PILLAR, Dlives and Halo DynamicWin publish their source code on GitHub under open-source licences. DynamicWin hands out its installers through GitHub releases but no longer hosts its source there. ZenithBar links to an installer on GitHub. The island mod for Windhawk is MIT-licensed, and its source is in Windhawk's public mods repository on GitHub. NotchPixel is not open source.

Which one uses the least CPU?

I cannot say, because I have not measured the other apps. I measured only NotchPixel: about 13 MB in Task Manager and 0% CPU at idle (version 0.5.64, 3 October 2026). The footprint page has the method. Some other makers state their own figures; I have not checked them.

Which ones have an ARM64 version?

Of the Microsoft Store apps in this guide, only Halo DynamicWin lists an ARM64 build. The others, NotchPixel included, list x64 or x86 only.

Why pay $9.99 for NotchPixel when others are free?

If a free one does what you want, you do not need to. NotchPixel is for a set of jobs that no other listing here describes together: a slim FPS, CPU, GPU and RAM strip in fullscreen games, reminders over games, one key that mutes the microphone in every app with a call timer, files to your phone on the same Wi-Fi with a QR code, and a Twitch or YouTube chat drawer. It is $9.99 once in the US, with no subscription and no account, and the Microsoft Store installs and updates it.

Does NotchPixel need an account or collect data?

No. There is no account, no telemetry and no ads. The privacy policy lists exactly what the app reads on your PC.

Who wrote this guide?

The maker of NotchPixel. Facts about the other apps come from their Microsoft Store listings, the Windhawk catalog, GitHub, Steam and their own websites, all checked on 4 October 2026. I did not measure other apps' memory or CPU. If anything here is wrong, email info@notchpixel.live and I will correct it.

Where the facts come from

Written by the maker of NotchPixel, 3 October 2026. Updated 4 October 2026.

Prices and features change often in this category. If something here is wrong or out of date, email info@notchpixel.live and I will correct it.